
Tammy Beaumont was involved in a controversial moment during the second woman Odi between India and England on Saturday 19th July in Lord’s. In the fifth over English during the persecution, Deepti Sharma bowed around the stump and Beaumont pinned the ball to the middle goal, where the Jemimah Rodrigues was placed.
Smimah reacted quickly and fired a sharp throw towards the end of the attacker. When the ball diverted Beaumont’s Pad, it seemed to be in her fold and moved his right leg forward. Although throwing did not hit the stumps, Wicketkeeper Rich Ghosh asked to defend the field release.
ENG-W VS Ind-W 2. Odi Veliky
The judges in the field of Rob White and Anna Harris granted the third referee before reference to the decision. After a close review of Jacqueline Williams, Beaumont decided not to tell and decided to simply try to regain the land.
At that time, Beaumont was 25 out of 17 balls. Then, before she fell into the Sneh Rany, she continued with a score of 34 out of 35 deliveries. England eventually won the match with rain eight goalsPursuing 115 to just 21 overs to compensate for a three-way series 1-1.
But was Beaumont really in clear, or did she get a happy break?
Here is the MCC law to defend the field
37.1 Out Butthructucts Ties
37.1.1 Either the dough prevents the field, if, with the exception of 37.2, and while the ball is in the game, it intentionally attempts to defend or avert the field aside or action. See also law 34 (hit the ball twice).
37.1.2 The attacker prevents the fields, if, with the exception of 37.2, when receiving the ball delivered by the pitch, deliberately strikes the ball of the hand that does not hold the bat. This will apply to whether this is the first strike or the second or subsequent strike. The act of accepting the ball extends to playing on the ball and to hit the ball more than once to defend your goal.
37.1.3 This law applies whether no ball is called.
37.2 not selecting a field
The dough must not beat the field if the obstacle or distraction is random,
or obstacle is to prevent injury
Or, in the case of the attacker, he will make a second or subsequent blow to protect his goal as in right 34.3 (the ball lawfully hit more than once).
– ends
Published:
Sabyasachi Chowdhury
Published on:
20th July 2025